Stay informed. See MDA updates on COVID-19

Innovations in Care

We provide programs and services that transform the lives of people affected by neuromuscular disease.

2020 MDA Engage Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Symposium

Virtual Online EventMDA Engage Logo
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
12 noon - 3:00pm PT / 3:00 - 6:00pm ET
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
12 noon - 3:00pm PT / 3:00 - 6:00pm ET

There is no cost to members of the MDA community or healthcare providers to attend the event, however registration is required. Members of the biopharma industry interested in sponsoring or attending should contact the MDA Healthcare Partnerships team. For all other questions, please reach out to mdaengage@mdausa.org.

Watch Recorded Seminar

Event Chair: Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Agenda

9/15:

  • Welcome & Introductions (12 noon PT/ 3:00pm ET)
    • Nicole Petrouski, MDA and Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • What’s New in ALS Research (12:10pm PT/ 3:10pm ET)
    • Dr. Jeffrey Rothstein, Ph.D, Director, Robert Packard Center for ALS Research and Professor of Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Clinical Trials for ALS (1:00pm PT/ 4:00pm ET)
    • Dr. Nicholas Maragakis, Professor of Neurology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Drug Development Roundtable (1:55pm PT/ 4:55pm ET)
    • Moderated by Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • MDA Mission Spotlight and Closing (2:40pm PT/ 5:40pm ET)
    • Nicole Petrouski, MDA and Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital

9/16:

  • Welcome and Introductions (12 noon PT/ 3:00pm ET)
    • Nicole Petrouski, MDA and Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Keynote Presentation- Best Practices in Clinical Care Expert Panel (12:05pm PT/ 3:05pm ET)
    • Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital
    • Alpa Uchil, MPH, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital
    • Kristen Riley, PhD, Johns Hopkins Hospital
    • Rachel Slusher, PT, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Pulmonary Needs for ALS Patients (1:15pm PT/ 4:15pm ET)
    • Dr. Noah Lechtzin, MD, MHS, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Genetic Testing (1:55pm PT/ 4:55pm ET)
    • Weiyi Mu, ScM, Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • National ALS Registry(2:35pm PT/ 5:35pm ET)
    • Reshma Punjani, National ALS Registry
  • Closing Remarks(2:50pm PT/ 5:50pm ET)
    • Nicole Petrouski, MDA and Lora Clawson, MSN, CRNP, Johns Hopkins Hospital

 

Thank you to our supporters:

  • Biogen
  • Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma, America
  • Cytokinetics
  • Genentech
  • Alexion
  • Orphazyme

For questions reach out to: mdaengage@mdausa.org | 1-833-ASK-MDA1 (1-833-275-6321)